Hexaaquametal(II) 4-styrenesulfonates of manganese, cobalt and nickel

Melvin A. Leonard, Philip J. Squattrito, Surendra N. Dubey

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

25 Scopus citations


The title compounds form an isomorphous series of the general formula [M(H2O)6](C8H7SO3) 2, where M = Mn {hexaaquamanganese(II) bis(4-styrenesulfonate), [Mn(H2O)6(C8H7SO3) 2}, Co {hexaaquacobalt(II) bis(4-styrenesulfonate), [Co(H2O)6](C8H7SO3) 2} or Ni {hexaaquanickel(II) bis(4-styrenesulfonate), [Ni(H2O)6]-(C8H7SO3)2}. The three compounds share a structure built of alternating layers of hexaaquametal(II) cations and 4-styrenesulfonate anions. The coordination environments of the metal cations are octahedral, with only minor deviations from ideal geometries [Mn - O 2.126 (3)-2.176 (5) Å, O - Mn - O 84.6 (1)-89.9 (2)°; Co - O 2.052 (2)-2.087 (4) Å, O - Co - O 86.4 (1)-89.5 (1)°; Ni - O 2.021 (3)-2.041 (5) Å, O - Ni - O 87.8 (2)-89.6 (2)°]. The 4-styrenesulfonate layers contain alternating rows of anions, with the sulfonate groups directed towards opposite faces of the layer. The layers are held together by a two-dimensional array of O - H⋯O hydrogen bonds between the coordinated water molecules and sulfonate O atoms [O⋯O 2.717 (6)-2.816 (5) Å]. Similarities with the structures of other divalent metal arenesulfonate salts are described.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)35-39
Number of pages5
JournalActa Crystallographica Section C: Crystal Structure Communications
Issue number1
StatePublished - 1999


Dive into the research topics of 'Hexaaquametal(II) 4-styrenesulfonates of manganese, cobalt and nickel'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this